Lee Gyeong-hoon “The first Korean player to win 3 consecutive PGA titles”

Lee Kyung-hoon challenges a new history.

Lee Kyung-hoon is aiming for a third straight victory at the PGA Tour AT&T Byron Nelson (total prize money of $9.5 million) held at TPC Craig Ranch (par 71, 7414 yards) in McKinney, Texas for four days from the 11th (local time). . In 2021, Lee Kyung-hoon won the first championship in his life after only his 80th appearance in this tournament, and succeeded in defending the title last year and harvested his second career victory.

Lee Kyung-hoon is the only Korean player to win the same tournament for two consecutive years on the PGA Tour. ‘Tank’ Kyung-Joo Choi won the Chrysler Classic in October 2005 and the Chrysler Championship in October 2006, but the two tournaments were held at different events. A three-game losing streak is a record that is difficult to achieve. After World War II, only nine people achieved this, and seven of them were outstanding enough to be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame. The most recent record was set by Steve Stricker (USA), who won the John Deere Classic from 2009 to 2011. Founded in 1944, Tom Watson (USA), who won three consecutive championships from 1978 to 1980, is the first and last.

Lee Kyung-hoon is expected to show his recent good flow. He made his third ‘Top 10’ of the season by finishing last week’s Wells Fargo Championship in a tie for 8th. Lee Kyung-hoon participated in 16 competitions this season, advanced to the finals 13 times, and entered the ‘Top 25’ 5 times. His personal best result was 3rd place in The CJ Cup last October. The PGA Tour also ranked Lee Kyung-hoon second in the tournament power rankings. In the local area, Lee Kyung-hoon was nicknamed ‘TPC LEE’ because of his compatibility with TPC Craig Ranch, a fierce battleground.바카라사이트

With World No. 1 Jon Lam (Spain) and No. 3 Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland) absent, Scotty Scheffler (USA), who is ranked No. 2, is a strong candidate for the championship. Schaeffler is a strong player who reached the top at the WM Phoenix Open and the ‘5th major’ The Players Championship this season. He has amassed 6 career victories on the PGA Tour. In Korea, the 2013 champ Bae Sang-moon and the 2019 champ Kang Seong-hoon were named. In addition, Kim Si-woo, Kim Joo-hyung, Kim Seong-hyeon, Noh Seung-yeol, and Ahn Byeong-hoon joined.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *