“There was nothing I could do but withdraw”

“I didn’t change just because I appealed, so all I could do was withdraw.”

The Hanwha Eagles couldn’t decide the game 1-1 after 12 overtime fights against the LG Twins in Jamsil on the 20th. There was considerable blood loss as both teams engaged in an all-out battle for 4 hours and 21 minutes.

Hanwha also became a victim of an unfair misjudgment. In the bottom of the ninth inning, when Jung Joo-hyun was at bat with no outs at first base, the finisher Park Sang-won and catcher Choi Jae-hoon’s battery attempted a bold pitch out on one ball. Expecting Jung Joo-hyun to try a fake-and-burnt slush, he threw the winning number.

Hanwha’s prediction was correct. LG first base runner Shin Min-jae started with second base. Considering the timing and Choi Jae-hoon’s throwing ability, it looked like he could catch Shin Jin-jae from second base.

However, the situation went strangely when the bat that Jung Joo-hyun missed during the swing was hit by Choi Jae-hoon. After a 4-sim agreement, the judges decided that Jae-Hoon Choi interfered with the blow. 

As soon as Hanwha coach Choi Won-ho was judged to interfere with the batting, he came out to the ground and protested strongly, but the result did not change. Hanwha was on the verge of defeat to finish with 1 and 2 unscathed.

However, Hanwha did not collapse. After Park Sang-won induced Kim Min-seong to double-stroke, he caught Park Hae-min as a floating ball in center field and finished the bottom of the ninth without conceding a run. Although they did not win, they proved that Hanwha is no longer a team that is easily defeated by fighting on an equal footing with LG, who tied for first place.

The KBO also quickly acknowledged the mistake. As a result of additional checks by the referee committee, it was corrected that it was a situation where it should have been judged that Jae-Hoon Choi interfered with Joo-Hyun Jung’s strike, and Ju-Hyun Jung’s interference with Jae-Hoon Choi’s defense. Punishment for misconduct will also be issued.

The next day, coach Choi said, “If Jung Joo-hyun didn’t miss the bat, the bat could have been hit, but it was confirmed that the bat fell out of his hand.” I fully conveyed my intentions to the referee, but I was told that (the strike interference decision) would not be overturned.”

Then, he smiled bitterly, “I have a lot of regrets. Even if I appealed, I was not accepted, so the only thing I could do was to withdraw. I was angry, but there was nothing I could do. I had no choice but to withdraw or not.”

Coach Choi, however, expressed satisfaction with the part where the players maintained their concentration until the end right after the miscarriage. Third baseman Noh Si-hwan spared no praise for connecting with a smooth throw to first base after a stable catch.토스카지노

Director Choi praised him, saying, “Roh Si-hwan’s double play was actually a difficult bound for Kim Min-seong. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *